Looks like Google’s flagged this site as harboring malware, for some reason. If you do a site:memwg.com search on Google you’ll see what I mean. All my pages are being shown in the SERPS with the warning “This site may harm your computer”. Let me assure you that there’s nothing bad on this site that I know of. It’s just a blog. I do distribute some software that I’ve written, but that stuff’s malware free. The only thing I can guess is that someone has either compromised the site somehow or else the site’s been flagged incorrectly. Unfortunately, there’s no way to determine what exactly is tripping up Google’s filters. I’ve submitted a review request to rectify the situation, maybe they’ll give me an idea of what’s wrong. In the meantime, if you have any ideas, I’m all ears…
-
About
- Since 2005, Eric Giguere has been writing about Google's AdSense program. On this site you'll find useful tips and advice on how to be an effective AdSense publisher.
- Archives
- September 2011
- March 2011
- January 2011
- December 2010
- November 2010
- October 2010
- May 2010
- April 2010
- March 2010
- February 2010
- January 2010
- December 2009
- November 2009
- October 2009
- September 2009
- July 2009
- June 2009
- May 2009
- April 2009
- March 2009
- February 2009
- January 2009
- December 2008
- November 2008
- October 2008
- September 2008
- August 2008
- July 2008
- June 2008
- May 2008
- April 2008
- March 2008
- February 2008
- January 2008
- December 2007
- November 2007
- October 2007
- September 2007
- August 2007
- July 2007
- June 2007
- May 2007
- April 2007
- March 2007
- February 2007
- January 2007
- December 2006
- November 2006
- October 2006
- September 2006
- August 2006
- July 2006
- June 2006
- May 2006
- April 2006
- March 2006
- February 2006
- January 2006
- December 2005
- November 2005
- October 2005
- September 2005
- August 2005
- July 2005
- June 2005
- May 2005
- Blogroll
- AdSense FAQ
- Affiliate Marketing
- Air Conditioning
- BlackBerry Programming
- Credit Cards
- CRM
- Dog Tips
- DUI Lawyer
- Eric Giguere
- Expert Articles
- Find Related
- Google Suggest Explorer
- Inside AdSense
- Invisible Fence
- Java ME Programming
- Mobile Database
- PLRSiteBuilder
- ProBlogger
- Shoemoney
- Stroller Advisor
- Survey Coupons
- Surveys and Rebates
- Synclastic
- Synclastic Media
- Uncommon Adsense
- Web Hosting
Running WordPress? Running an older version? You may have had your theme, or WP install compromised in a recent security issue and as such, in your header, or footer, of your theme, you will find some PHP code that shouldn’t be there.
Check over your theme, upgrade WordPress, check your WordPress folders for php file that shouldn’t be there, and lock down you wp-content folders to a better security permission level.
If you need any help with any of this, let me know.
-David
BloggingPro.com and other sites.
According to Norton AV, every time I visit this site it blocks a virus that it identifies as ‘Downloader’ – a trojan.
In the NAV’s history section it mentions a file called wp-stats[1].htm as being the culprit.
I can’t see a file by that name in your source code but it may be hidden in something else.
Martin
Thanks for the feedback, guys. I must have a bogus file somewhere on the site. I’ll start looking. The wp-stats.htm file is odd, I can’t find any reference to it, either. A quick eyeball of my page source code doesn’t show anything odd.
Eric
So I found someone had inserted some code, including a call to wp-stats, over on AdSensePHP.com, which is linked to from here. Maybe that’s part of the problem. I’ve fixed AdSensePHP.com and upgraded it to WP 2.5. I’ve also upgraded MEMWG to WP 2.5 for good measure. I’ll see if I can find anything else.
Eric
Now Google is flagging my “101 Uses For PLR Articles” post specifically as a culprit. I can’t find anything on it, though, that is suspect. If you do, let me know!
Eric
It may be one of your widgets of plugins.
If you want to try disabling them one at a time, I’ll happily see if Norton reacts.
Martin
Every time I visit this site Norton also blocks a virus that it identifies as ‘Downloader’ – a trojan and I have been wondering why. This has been going on for at least two weeks.
J.C.
Hi Eric
1. Everytime I visit the site, it seems to take forever to load – I don’t know if that’s relevant to the problem.
2. When I clicked the link above to “101 uses for PLR Articles”, the status line at the bottom of the screen came up with a message transferring data from (or waiting for) http://www.wp-stats-php.info. It didn’t come up again when I reloaded the page or tried the link again, so I can’t confirm the exact wording of the message, but I’m pretty sure of the url.
Cheers
Tony
I’ve found two iframe injections so far, which explains the malware warning. Have to go looking for more…
I’ve also enabled caching on the site, you should see a speed improvement because of it.
Eric
Norton remained silent when I visited here today, so it looks as if you’ve found the problem and solved it.
Any idea what the cause was? If it did stem from a plugin it would be useful to know to avoid it!
Martin
I don’t know what caused it, no. Could be a plugin, could be (more likely) a vulnerability in the earlier version of WordPress I was using.
I’m working on something to help find these kinds of problems… watch this blog!
Eric
>>I’ve found two iframe injections so far, which explains the malware warning.<<
What are iframe injections and how do I figure out if I have any of them on my wp blog?
Johnny
Johnny, I’m preparing a post and a solution to those iframe injections… stay tuned!